Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ's)
What is the difference between Defensive Driver Training (DDT) and Traffic Survival School (TSS)? Defensive Driver Training is a 4 hour court diversion and education class that you can take once every 12 months to remove a citation off your driving record. Traffic Survival School is an 8 hour class that is mandatory upon notification from the Arizona Department of Motor Vehicles. Traffic Survival School does NOT remove the violation from your driving record. TSS is for more serious violations or for drivers with excessive points on their record.
How do I know if my ticket is eligible for Defensive Driver Training? Click here to see a list of eligible violation codes.
What time frames do you mean when you state that you can take Defensive Driver Training once every 12 months? Every 12 months from Violation Date to Violation Date.
Where can I go to get more information about the Defensive Driving? Click here to visit the State of Arizona Supreme Court Defensive Driving Program. You can go online http://www.azdrive.com or call (888) 334-5565.
Can I get a refund if I have started a class but have not finished? In accordance with Arizona Supreme Court regulations the only case where a refund will be granted is if the officer fails to file the citation with the court, or the citation is dismissed by the court for any reason. In all other cases a refund will not be granted after your class has already begun. Click here for our refund policy.
What if my ticket has multiple violations? After successfully completing the defensive driver Training only ONE violation will be removed. You must attend your court date to handle the remaining violations.
What do I do if I am within 7 days of my court date? You must attend and complete the Defensive Driver Training at least 7 days before your court date. If you are within 7 days you must contact the court directly and request an extension to take the class.
Is there anything I have to do after I take the class? No! We will upload your violation for dismissal after successful completion of the class.
Do I need to tell my insurance company that I had a ticket? No! The benefit of this class is that it is removed from your driving record permanently and you will not need to notify your insurance company.
Do I get a discount on my insurance if I take this class? Possibly! If you take this class for the purposes of removing a ticket from your driving record, then no, you will not receive a discount. If you voluntarily come to class and pay the school fee then upon successful completion you will receive a ticket and you MAY be eligible for a discount on your insurance. Before attending the class you should contact your insurance company. Not all insurance companies give discounts.
Do I need to bring anything to class? Yes! Bring your original ticket, any court paperwork you received such as extension paperwork, your driver’s license, and a money order or cashier’s check made payable to Crash and Learn LLC.
I require an accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act. Are there provisions for me to attend a defensive driving class? Yes. Individuals are protected by the Americans with Disabilities Act.
I hold a Commercial Driver License, am I eligible for the Defensive Driving Diversion Program? No, per A.R.S. 28-3392(C) (2), commercial drivers’ license holders are not eligible for the Defensive Driving Diversion Program, regardless of whether they are driving commercially at the time of the violation.
Can I be ordered by the court to attend a Defensive Driving School? Yes, courts do have the right to order a person attend defensive driving school, but in these cases the class is not for dismissal of the violation.
What are the benefits of attending Defensive Driver Training? Points are not assessed to your motor vehicle record. Your insurance rates will not increase. You will learn valuable traffic information, driving techniques and laws.
Are there any courts your school does not accept? Yes! Due to technical requirements we do not accept the following courts. 0766-Gilbert Municipal Court, 1001-Pima County Consolidated Justice Court, and 1041-Tucson Municipal Court. All others we accept!
Do I receive anything to show I attended the class? Yes! You will receive a Completion Certificate. This is for your records.
Copyright © CRASH AND LEARN LLC | All Rights Reserved
Crash and Learn LLC - Driving School
6801 N. 21st Ave Suite Q
Phoenix, AZ 85015